Looking back on my 2010 New Year’s resolution

December 31, 2010 at 3:29 pm | Posted in Ramblings | 2 Comments

End 2009 I came up with 8 quantifiable goals for this year. Now it’s time to look back on how well I did. Let’s first show the burn-down chart and then I will explain the results:

As you can see in this graph (the blue line) I got close to 75 % of my goals, with about 25 % left. These are the 8 goals I had defined:

  1. 400 LinkedIn contacts. I started with 370 contacts begin 2010 and currently I have 457 contacts. So I exceeded this goal easily. The main reason for this is that I had quite a lot of short consultancy jobs this year so I met many people.
  2. finish reading 50 books. Didn’t make this. I ended up with 29 books, mostly because I used public transport less than expected. When you get to drive 2.5 hours a day for an assignment it’s pretty hard to find any time to read. You can see this happen in the above chart around week 20.
  3. run my ‘usual route’ (about 10 km) 80 times. This means that I have to run almost twice a week. Which I didn’t make. The counter stopped at 59. On the plus side I started this year with running 10 km in 50 minutes but I ended up at close to 45 minutes.
  4. 150 followers on Twitter, coming from 64. I fully met this goal and currently have 164 followers.
  5. 3 publications or presentations. Fully met: I gave a presentation at Agile 2010 in Orlando, a presentation on Clojure for JFall 2010. And finally I published an article (first of a series of 3) about Clojure in Java Magazine.
  6. I promised two GIMP# releases. Unfortunately I only managed to release GIMP# 0.17.
  7. I wanted to push the number of visitors for this blog from 50 to 100. Again I partly succeeded. The average number of visitors this year was 71 a day. My blog on the evilness of fixed-price projects attracted almost 6000 visitors in a single day. My lesson learned is that I really have to blog more often to get this number up.
  8. And finally I had planned to learn 2 new programming languages. I ended up with only 1, but boy, what a wonderful language it is!

For 2011 I have a couple of new and ambitious goals in mind. In the mean time: Happy New Year to all my readers!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Consider buying audio-books to “read” in the car, to achieve your reading goal in 2011.

  2. Fantastisch. Je bent mijn held. Alleen jammer van die programmeer taal.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

