QR-codes in Ministeck

November 28, 2010 at 6:09 pm | Posted in C#, GIMP, Programming | 1 Comment

My previous blog about fixed-price projects attracted a whopping 5000 visitors in one single day. This one is probably going to be a bit less spectacular. Lately I have been using Google Charts quite a lot. One of the charts that stands apart from the usual charts are the QR codes. Although it is easy to enter an URL to generate such a QR code I figured it might be fun to write a GIMP# plug-in to do this. The result after a couple of hours hacking can be seen in the next screenshot:

I didn’t implement the QR code functionality myself. All the plug-in does is collect the parameters, build an URL, fetch an image from Google Charts and finally render the result either in the preview of the plug-in or as an image in GIMP. To make it a bit more interesting I used the Ministeck plug-in that comes with GIMP# and borrowed some Ministeck from my kids. Next I implemented the following probably very first ever QR code using black Ministeck pieces:

Ministeck

Believe it or not, I was actually able to read it, using a barcode scanner on my Android phone. This plugin will be included in the next GIMP# release.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Awesome!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

