Writing GIMP plug-ins in Object Pascal

October 23, 2008 at 2:46 pm | Posted in GIMP, Programming | 5 Comments

I slowly picked up GIMP# development again. To get my brain in the right mode I added a plug-in in yet another .NET language: Oxygene which is a kind of Object Pascal. From what I’ve seen it is a pretty decent language although I never understood why people would like to type 10 characters (“begin;” and “end;”) instead of 2 curly braces just to open and close a block😉

For those interested: currently I run Mandriva 2009 with VirtualBox 2.0.2 on my loyal MacBook Pro for development. The fancy IDE I use is called Emacs.

IronRuby and the Fan Programming Language will probably be my next targets.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh my god, Object Pascal! Ah, youth…🙂

  2. it’s all the power of the simplicity (oo pascal follows the kiss philosophy and in a way is better than c++ for example)

    Most of the time you have to rewire your brain for c++

    but pascal is focused to be an learning tool and it’s easier for the brain it seems

    Just go in an computer science class and ask students what they like:c++ or pascal
    I’m not talking about the genius but the average guy
    The same is with php or java script it’s easier to catch and learn them than java or c++

    Check the tiobe index and you will see how the scripting languages take over the work

    http://www.tiobe.com/index.php/content/paperinfo/tpci/index.html

  3. Well, we all know C/C++ programmers are lazy dogs. They don’t like to write more then necessary i.e. { instead of begin or even i++ instead of inc(i) or better inc(index).

    But I’m always wondering about the == to compare.
    Ok, I know it’s because = is the assignment operator.

    May the void* be with you.
    McHack

  4. It has something to do with the beauty of language, elegance and aesthetics. Curly braces just look ugly and only manage to make things harder to read.

    Curly braces languages are like a Big Mac menu at McDonald’s, and Pascal is like a nice evening in a French restaurant.😉

  5. I can only encourage you go on with the GIMP# project.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

