1000+ GIMP# downloads this month

February 25, 2008 at 7:36 pm | Posted in GIMP | 4 Comments

A new milestone: in February the number of monthly GIMP# downloads surpassed 1000 for the first time. A big thanks goes to Ivo Rytir for the win32 installer and the patches he has submitted. His installer accounts for 60 % of the downloads. I happen to be in his hometown Toronto for the Agile 2008 conference this year and I will certainly buy him his favorite beer: Pilsner Urguell. Cheers Ivo!

Pilsner Urguell

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow, congratulations!

    I assume that GIMP# on Windows uses the “real” .NET framework, am I correct?

    I would like to give GIMP# some exposure, it would be nice to have some kind of fact-sheet to pass around.

  2. @Miguel,

    I assume that GIMP# on Windows uses the “real” .NET framework, am I correct?

    Yes, that is correct. On Linux and OS-X GIMP# of course uses Mono.”

    I would like to give GIMP# some exposure, it would be nice to have some kind of fact-sheet to pass around.

    Cool! Any particular information you would like to see in such a fact-sheet? What format should it be in?

  3. Hi, I have installed Gimp# on my system and it’s working nicely. But the Colorize plugin, which seems to be nothing but amazing if it matches the descriptions, gives me trouble. I think it’s because I don’t know how to use it properly: At the moment, what I do is create a new transparent layer of a greyscaled image, then draw some colored lines there, and then use the plugin without changing any of the default parameters. This results in excessive use of the processor and swap by the plugin, and finally in a crash. I haven’t been able to get any result out of it.

    Since I have found another blog entry from over two years ago which says that the plugin did its work “in a few seconds”, I think that I am using it wrong. Is there some tutorial where the correct usage for this plugin is explained or could you write a few lines about how the usual workflow goes when colorizing?

    Another thing, somebody by the name of Chris wrote in your initial Colorize blog entry that he believes that the UMFPACK library isn’t the best choice as a solver and would use something else like least squares for it and that you should contact him via email if interested. Has that ever happened? If not, could you get me his email address? I’m interested.🙂

  4. To be honest, I haven’t tested this plug-in in a long time and I remember it took me some fiddling before I understood how it worked and got some results.

    I also remember it was pretty slow. Chris did some experiments but iirc those were even slower and he was a bit too busy with his finals at that time. If you want to contact him, his e-mail is cmaes at stanford dot edu or cmmaes at gmail dot com


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

