Playing with IronPython

January 13, 2007 at 8:27 pm | Posted in C#, GIMP, Programming | Leave a comment

GIMP has support for many programming languages. For scripting there’s of course good old Scheme, Python, Perl, LUA and more lately there has been Ruby support as part of a Google SOC project. If you want to write plug-ins there’s C, C++, C# and Java. The last two languages are supported by my GIMP# project. Recently I started playing with IronPython. Main goal is to add Python as yet another .NET language that is supported by GIMP#.

So far things look good and most probably GIMP# 0.12 will have support for IronPython. There are still a few minor issues. For example I haven’t been able yet to derive a Python class from an abstract C# class. There are at least two more languages that will be supported by GIMP#: Visual Basic should be pretty easy to support, as soon as it comes with Mono. I also am going to experiment with Ruby.NET. Finally I’ve been reading a bit about Ruby lately (the book “Ruby for Rails“) and I actually like the language. According to this site it seems to have become a very popular language last year.

Oh, and here is my New Year’s resolution: I’m going to read more books. One `technical’ book like the “Ruby for Rails” book, and one general book like “The Prince” from Machiavelli per month. And I will write reviews of what I’ve read on this blog.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

