Finally coding again

November 16, 2006 at 8:09 am | Posted in GIMP | 9 Comments

After spending far too much time on the Free Internet Chess Server I finally picked up coding GIMP# again. The main goal is to have a next release before the end of the year. This release will hopefully support 40 % of all Photoshop action files. Furthermore I started porting the abandoned Colorize plug-in. The functionality of this plug-in is described as: “In our approach an artist only needs to annotate the image with a few color scribbles, and the indicated colors are automatically propagated in both space and time to produce a fully colorized image or sequence.” For example the following picture

Before

is converted to:

After

It’s quite a CPU intensive operation, but most of the work is done in the UMFPACK library so I don’t expect much difference between the C and C# version of this plug-in.

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I had taken a look at GIMP# a while back and was impressed. I could see myself sitting down one of these days and developing my own plug-ins based on your effort!

    I have to say that the Colorize plug-in you describe above would be a huge boon to GIMP users, and I suppose that I’m surprised that it hasn’t made its way into the tool yet. The ability to quickly add/change the color in photos would be significantly helpful in many situations. Please let me know if you are able to accomplish this!

    Finally, I wanted to ask if you are currently involved at all in the GEGL effort. Since this seems like the future of the GIMP, would it be logical direction for GIMP# as well?

    Best regards and keep up the great work!,

    Steve

  2. I’d seen the colorize paper before, but didn’t take much notice until you mentioned it in the context of UMFPACK. I took a look at the paper, and played around with the matlab code.

    Because of the highly structured nature of the problem, I’d recommend not using the general UMFPACK solver.

    Or at the very least doing some timing comparisons between the UMFPACK solver, and several iterative methods like Multigrid (the other solver included by the authors in the matlab code), LSQR, and perhaps even older iterative methods like SOR.

    If you’d like I’d be interested in exploring the
    computational aspects of this plugin. Shoot me an email if your interested.

  3. I’m a bit excited and I just want to know if I should be.

    Does this mean you intend to make this plugin avaliable to gimp or gimp#, without the need of matlab? If so I’d be extreamly greatful. I could think of many uses for this but unfortunately I don’t have access to matlab so the plugin is about as useful as me paying for program that does it.

  4. @Steve: the (C version of the ) plug-in is probably not going to be included in GIMP because it has dependencies on two extra libraries (UMFPACK and BLAS). In general the GIMP developers don’t like to add extra dependencies for one single plug-in. And no, I’m not involved with the GEGL effort. All of my limited spare time goes to GIMP#. Of course in the future GIMP# will support all features that GEGL offers, just like I’m now already covering some features coming with GIMP 2.4.

    @bigstu: the current version (written in C) is already available for GIMP and uses the UMFPACK library. So you won’t need Matlab to run this. The only problem is that this C version is not maintained anymore. It’s also not completely trivial to compile, especially not on win32. Therefor I’m porting the code to C# so I can include it with my GIMP# distribution.

  5. Ahh I see, thanks. Yeah I’m a bit of a normal user when it comes to compiling, meaning I leave it to the programmers🙂 I could go on a short rant about how compiling, poor documentation, and usless trivial setup is what keeps many more from linux/most open source projects but I don’t think its warrented.

    Thanks for your work.

  6. It would be nice to a C# binding for GEGL though. Without such a binding, GIMP# is not going to work with future versions of GIMP.

  7. GIMP# is for sure going to support GEGL. I will have a look at the current status of GEGL and maybe I can already contribute a C# interface.

  8. Maurits, you do know that there are C# binding for GEGL in SVN now, do you?🙂

  9. Hi Alexandre. Yes I’ve read about it. Good thing, because it saves me some time🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

