Just ask the source

May 19, 2006 at 8:00 am | Posted in GIMP | 2 Comments

Sometimes life is good. I came across a site with nice information about simulating of lightning. The results look quite impressive and my first thought was that this would be very nice for a GIMP# plug-in. Too bad they had no source code available. So I decided to contact the author and he nicely responded that he was going to talk to some people at the university where this program was created. A day later he mailed me back that they are going to release the source!

The lesson I learned: if you ask people politely they are very often willing to help you.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Its been a couple of months since you said they were going to release the source.

    Did they release it? Is it available somewhere for us to try making a plugin out of it?

    I looked at their site, and it is a very nice lightning simulation, but I couldn’t find a link anywhere to the source.

  2. I have been so busy with Photoshop actions that I almost forgot about this🙂 I just sent them a reminder. Thanks for noticing.
    And the reply came very soon after my mail:

    “I’ve been working on it, but a few things came up and I had to put it on the back burner. You’ll be the first to know when it’s up.

    Ted”


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

